top of page

Pumpkinee Pumpkin Spiced Cupcakes


Can you believe it is already almost Halloween? Where has the time gone I ask you?! The weather here is Missouri has been very odd. It is mid October and the leaves haven't changed yet. Fall is one of my favorite seasons and I have been waiting patiently for it to stinking get here! Ugh! Anyhoo, I have been in the kitchen (where you will usually always find me) whipping up some Halloween inspired goodies. These are one of the goodies that I feel turned out perfect! The cream cheese icing...oh man... I could literally eat all of the icing out of the bowl and not feel a bit of remorse.


These Pumpkinee Pumpkin Spiced Cupcakes were inspired by the hype recipe of those Pumpkin Spiced Muffins with the spiced box cake mix and a can of pumpkin puree. I wanted my cupcakes to be lighter and more of a dessert than breakfast. I also wanted my cupcakes to look like a Pumpkin. If you wanted to add some greenery simply pipe on some vines and leaves. If you want a full tutorial on how to make these cupcakes, check out my Youtube video below (it's quite entertaining) "She's ANGRAY!" You'll get that part if you watch the video.



I personally think that these cupcakes have the best flavor. Again, the cream cheese icing really makes these cupcakes. If you are interested in the full recipe have no fear, the recipe is down here! (Ha! See what I did there?)



Pumpkinee Pumpkin Spiced Cupcakes

Prep Time 20 min | Cook Time 20 min | 40 min


Serves: 24-27

Author: Blair Sien


Ingredients

1 box (15.25 oz.) Spiced Cake mix with pudding in it

4 large eggs

½ cup (122.5g., 4.5 oz.) milk

1 cup (224g., 8 oz.) oil (I used vegetable)

½ of a 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree


Icing

1-8 oz. block cream cheese

½ cup (113g., 4 oz.) of room temperature butter

4 cups (440g., 15.52 oz.) powdered sugar

3 Tbsp. milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Orange food coloring (I used gel)

Green food coloring (optional)

12-13 pretzel sticks


Instructions

In a bowl add your spiced cake mix, pumpkin puree, oil, eggs, and milk and mix with a hand mixer or stand mixer until well combined. In a cupcake pan place orange cupcake liners and fill those 2/3 full. Bake at 350 degrees for 17-20 minutes. For your icing cream together, your cream cheese and butter using your hand or stand mixer and add a half of the powdered sugar and add half of your milk and mix well. Add the rest of your powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla. (Note: if you want greenery on your pumpkin cupcakes reserve at least ½ cup of icing and dye it green.) Mix in your orange food coloring to desired color. Once your cupcakes have come out of oven let them cool completely. Add your orange icing; break the pretzel sticks in half. Place half the pretzel stick into your cupcake. At this time add your green icing if you choose. This recipe makes 24 to 27 cupcakes. Enjoy!

Comments


bottom of page