top of page

Momma's Sweet Cornbread


Oh goodness....where do I even begin! This cornbread is by far my favorite. I have tried so many other recipes of cornbread and nothing can't beat this recipe. It's absolutely to die for. My mom has used this recipe since I was a little girl, she would make this to go with ham n' beans, fried fish, and to just eat by itself. It's not your average cornbread it is sweet and fluffy in fact, it's almost like a cake. If you are interested in making it watch my video for a full tutorial on how to cook it.

When I make this cornbread for friends and family I get compliment after compliment of how good the cornbread is. However, I have to feel sorry for my mother because every single time (literally every time!) I make this recipe I have to call my mother to get it because somehow I misplace the recipe every time.

Now some good ideas that my mom has done in the past with this recipe is adding some cheese and a can of corn to it to make an even tastier side. What cracks me up to this day is when I was just a little thing I would wake up in the middle of the night go to the kitchen and sneak me a couple of pieces of cornbread and take it back to my room and eat it. Of course, I had a ton of crumbs in my bed, but it was soooo worth it. Enough of me babbling, the recipe is down below.

 

Momma’s Sweet Cornbread

Prep Time 15 min | Cook Time 25 min | Total Time 40 min

Serves: 9

Author: My Mom

Ingredients

1 cup All-purpose flour

1 cup corn meal

1 tsp salt

4 tsp baking powder

2/3 cup sugar

¼ cup oil

2 eggs

1 cup milk

Instructions

Place all dry ingredients in a bowl flour, cornmeal, salt, baking powder, and sugar. Next, add your wet ingredients oil, eggs and milk. Combine it all together. Pour batter into an 8X8 inch greased pan (or whatever you have). Bake at 425 degrees F for 20-25 minutes. It's done when toothpick comes out clean.


bottom of page